University of Belgrade
Institute of Chemistry, Technology and Metallurgy
National Institute of the Republic of Serbia

grb BUUniversity of Belgrade

Institute Today

Scientific Institution Institute of Chemistry, Technology and Metallurgy -
ICTM is accredited National Institute of the University of Belgrade

Registration number: 200026.

Classification code: 73101;  ID number: 7805497; VAT number: 100160355.

The basic activities of the Institute of Chemistry, Technology and Metallurgy are fundamental and applied multidisciplinary scientific research and design and development of technological processes in the following areas:

  • Chemistry and Chemical Technology
  • Organic Chemistry
  • Electrochemistry
  • Catalysis
  • Microelectronic Technologies
  • Macromolecular and Polymer Materials
  • Biochemistry and Biotechnology
  • Materials Science
  • Metallurgy of Powders and Sintered Materials
  • Instrumental Analysis
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
  • Micro-Electromechanical Systems (MEMS)
  • Sensor
  • Optoelectronics
  • Plasmonics
  • Semiconductor Technologies
  • Magnetic Materials and Magnetism
  • Metals and Metal Alloys
  • Environmental Protection and Remediation

ICTM is equipped with advanced tools for fabrication and characterization in all the areas listed above. The Institute has about 200 researchers (150 PhDs), mainly chemists, physico-chemists, engineers of chemical technology, electro, and mechanical engineers. The structure of the scientific positions is available on the following page.

Activities of the Institute are carried out in six specialized research departments: Department of ChemistryDepartment of ElectrochemistryDepartment of Microelectronic Technologies, Department of Catalysis and Chemical EngineeringDepartment of Materials and Metallurgy, and Department of Ecology and Technoeconomics.

Activities of the Department of Chemistry cover scientific and applied research in organic chemistry, biochemistry and biotechnology, biomacromolecules, chemistry of synthetic polymers, environmental chemistry, and theoretical and computational chemistry.

Department of Electrochemistry deals with fundamental scientific research in the fields of electrochemistry and electrochemical engineering:  kinetics of electrode processes, electrochemistry of halogens and their compounds, electroorganic reactions, electrochemistry of double-layer, adsorption of organic compounds, corrosion and corrosion protection, mass transfer in electrochemical systems, electrode materials, metal deposition, electroanalytical chemistry and electrochemical sensors, electrometallurgy, etc.

Department of Microelectronic Technologies deals with multidisciplinary research in the fields of sensors, microelectro­mechanical systems (MEMS), nanoscience and nanotechnology, photonics and plasmonics, as well as semiconductor science and technology. Researches start from the fundamental concepts and theoretical research and ends up with constructed devices or systems.

Department of Catalysis and Chemical Engineering is a unique national research institution in the field of catalysis and chemical engineering. Department covers the entire spectrum of activities in the field of catalysis, catalytic processes and chemical engineering, from basic research and development of new technologies, to their application in the industry.

Department of Materials and Metallurgy doing research in the field of metallurgy of powder and sintered composite materials. The department offers services in the scientific research in the field of powder metallurgy, development of technological processes for the production and application of powder, composite and other special materials, as well as high-quality components for special purpose materials.

Department of Ecology and Technoeconomics is a scientific, research and consulting unit of ICTM, specialized in the areas of engineering and market management in process industries, designing and engineering of process technologies, and laboratory research and testing.